NZ Election 2026 · The Parties, the Issues and the Long Game

Issues

Thirteen groupings, one template; strong answers cluster on household issues

Thirteen policy groupings, each with what is at stake now and by 2050, the options on the table, where every party stands, and statements to place yourself. The groupings follow Policy.nz's topics, so you can move between the two, with tax and retirement drawn together so the long-run budget is visible in one place.

Each party gets two scores per grouping. Voter priorities (out of 15): the four core tests plus relief this term. Readiness (out of 21): the four core tests plus the three long-run tests. The heatmap shows readiness. Current settings are the first row, the bar to beat. The groupings follow Policy.nz's topics, with tax and retirement drawn together so the long-run budget sits in one place (the Method page shows the mapping).

How to read each grouping

  • What is at stake: the problem this term and by 2050, with one number to know.
  • Current settings and the 2050 test: the bar to beat, and whose answers build or borrow.
  • The options on the table: the main approaches, and who backs each.
  • Place yourself: four or five statements; agreeing sometimes means change and sometimes keeping current settings. Tick the ones you agree with and compare.
  • Where each party stands: its stance, main policies and its voter priorities score (out of 15) and its readiness score (out of 21).

The 13 groupings

Readiness to 2050 by grouping, out of 21

Current settings are the first row, the bar to beat. Voter priorities scores (out of 15) are on each grouping's page.

PartyCost of livingHealthEconomy and jobsHousingCrime and justiceClimate and energyEducationMigrationTax and retirementInfrastructureTe TiritiDefence and tradeCommunity and culture
Current settings11101313131312111112111412
National1715141413121412141471513
Labour111413146121310131014811
Greens108998149612811711
ACT121112914911121712131112
NZ First10777676966969
Te Pāti Māori1177978801061066
Opportunity1311131681611812161009

Issues

This term's money: only three parties publish full costings, and none are independently checked

National and Labour spend mostly from the envelope Treasury already set aside; ACT shrinks it. The Greens, Te Pāti Māori and Opportunity cost their taxes, not their whole platform. NZ First publishes no plan.

PartyPlanNew spending a year (main source)SurplusDebt by 2030/31Fiscal rulesCostings reviewed?
Status quoPREFU 20262028/29 (about $2.1b)About 39.5% of GDPCurrent Government rulesTreasury
NationalFull plan$6.7b by 2030/31 (allowance, a little from cuts)2028/29 ($4.0b)39.5% of GDPDebt below 40%; spending towards 30% of GDPNo
LabourFull plan$7.3b by 2030/31 (allowance and new tax, about half each)$2.0b in 2028/29 (fiscal plan); 2029/30 on its strategy page$96b; no % givenDebt below 20% of GDP over timeParty-commissioned
GreensTax package$2.8b by 2030/31 (new tax raising $5.7b)Not statedNot statedNo "arbitrary limits"Taxes by Parliamentary Library
ACTFull plan$2.4b by 2030/31 (from cuts totalling $6.6b)2027/28 (excluding ACC)$12.4b below forecastNo tax cuts by borrowingNo
NZ FirstNone$2.3b (source not stated)Not statedNot statedNone statedNo
Te Pāti MāoriTax package$3.8b (new tax; the party states a net $4.1b)Not statedNot statedNone statedNo
OpportunityTax package$5.2b at full rollout (new tax, the rest borrowed)Not statedAdds up to 15% of GDP ($60b over ten years)None stated; interest under 1% of GDPUnnamed economists

All figures nominal, four-year forecast period 2027/28 to 2030/31, against Treasury's pre-election forecast (PREFU 2026) where the party uses it. Party figures; our arithmetic is labelled.

Issues

What the costed plans add or save: National and Labour add to spending; ACT and the Greens come out ahead on their own figures

Four-year totals for the four parties with fully costed plans or tax packages, built from each party's own lines.

What sits behind the bars

  • National: all inside $24b of allowances already in Treasury's forecast. No new taxes, but fuel excise rises in 5c steps from 2028. [10]
  • Labour: inside the same allowances, leaving $10.5b unallocated; costings reviewed by Hall Chadwick, commissioned by Labour. [12]
  • ACT: back-office cuts of $9.9b name no departments; debt is $12.4b lower by June 2031. [14]
  • Greens: many large promises are uncosted, and KiwiMart ($2.8b) has no stated funding. [13]

Issues

NZ First, Te Pāti Māori and Opportunity cost only parts of their plans

None of the three gives years for its figures, so each line is a full-year amount. Minus signs raise revenue.

PartyLine ($m a year)AmountConfidenceBasis
NZ First20% company tax for small firms1,000LowParty estimate, "initial"
NZ FirstIn-work tax credit up $70 a week, to $120500 to 600LowParty range
NZ FirstKiwi Kids Grant (year three)400LowParty estimate
NZ FirstSubsurface survey ($1b over the term)333LowSpread evenly by us
NZ FirstBNZ buy-backPrice not statedLowFunded from ACC, banking bonds, Crown debt and KiwiSaver capital
NZ FirstFunding statedNone[15]
Te Pāti MāoriTaxes raised (wealth, company, land, stamp duty, offshore profits, anti-fraud)-20,800LowOur sum of the party's line items
Te Pāti MāoriIncome tax cuts and food credit16,700LowOur sum of the party's line items
Te Pāti MāoriStated spending, plus funds spread over three years3,800LowOur sum of party figures
Te Pāti MāoriHeadroom200 spare800 short if the anti-fraud line is spending [16]
OpportunityLand value tax (gross) and admin savings-26,065LowParty table, 2024 numbers, full rollout
OpportunityCitizen's Income and tax changes21,916LowParty table
OpportunityCosted spending, and its own infrastructure interest estimate4,675 to 5,675LowOur sum of party figures
OpportunityBalance594 to 1,594 shortBefore its health target ($6.4b to $7.3b by year ten) [17]

NZ First

No fiscal plan. Its largest promises, including a BNZ buy-back and an up to $100b Future Fund, have no stated price or funding.

Te Pāti Māori

The party states a net $4.1b. Its "$1 billion" anti-fraud line is an investment in ending tax avoidance, booked as revenue. Its 5% stamp duty applies to residential sales, with first-home buyers under $1m exempt. Doubling benefits, free primary and dental care, phased free public transport and a universal student allowance carry no cost.

Opportunity

Its health target costs about $1.3b a year; $60b of infrastructure borrowing over ten years runs through a new Infrastructure Fund. Its Citizen's Income pays up to $370 a week to almost all adults and replaces NZ Super, with a top-up to current Super rates.